Just Some Good Ole Boys

So, we’re out at a local bar that has an “open mic night” on Mondays, and the spousal unit requested the old Dukes of Hazard theme song “Good Ole Boys.”

I’m seriously conflicted about how much I like this song.  When I watched it as a kid, Bo and Luke Duke were all about standing up to the corrupt establishment. Specifically Boss Hogg, who represented every corrupt cop everywhere. And it was made explicitly clear (though I don’t know how often) that they were about fairness to everyone regardless of societal prejudices.

Today, as an adult, I’m far more conflicted about enjoying that song. They drove a car called the “General Lee” for Gods’ sakes.  It had a Confederate flag on it, and wtf is that about? In-universe, however, I absolutely accept that Bo and Luke Duke, and their Uncle Jessie and cousin Daisy, were only in favor of fairness against the establishment.  In fact, I probably can credit them with some of my present-day SJW tendencies.

But .. the General Lee. The Confederate flag. Those symbols mean something. There’s a reason people have been pushing to get them taken down.  There’s a reason I strongly support that.

I told the spousal unit, this is why I’m conflicted about liking this song, as opposed to outright hating it. Life isn’t simple. Ever.

This is the stuff we need to impart to our front-line patient-care staff.  It;s never simple.  It’s never textbook.  If you focus on what the patient needs, and respect their wishes, you’ll do your job well. If you let your explicit or implicit biases guide you, you will not. I guess that’s the point.

2 thoughts on “Just Some Good Ole Boys

  1. HI there! I couldn’t agree with you more. It’s not simple, that’s just it. But it’s necessary for our patients to feel safe from any cultural context and to do that we must at least be mindful of our internal biases. Love your direction! Please follow me on Facebook at Transform Nursing. I wanted to follow you but can’t find you. I’ll look again. Thanks,

    Nikki

Leave a Reply

